When it comes to damages in personal injury cases, some states place “caps,” or limits, on certain categories of compensation, like non-economic (or “pain and suffering”) damages. Other states cap damages in certain types of injury cases, like those stemming from medical malpractice.
Maryland caps non-economic damages in all types of injury cases. These caps change on October 1 of each year to reflect the rate of inflation. For injuries that occurred between October 1, 2011 and September 30, 2012, for instance, the caps on non-economic damages in Maryland are as follows:
$755,000 limit on non-medical malpractice injuries arising from the same incident,
$1,132,500 limit on non-medical malpractice wrongful death claims with two or more beneficiaries,
$695,000 limit on medical malpractice injuries arising from the same incident, and
$868,750 limit on medical malpractice wrongful death claims with two or more beneficiaries.
The cap that applies to a given case depends on when the injury occurred, which is usually measured from the date of the accident. For instance, if you were injured on October 2, 2011, the example caps listed above would apply.
In Virginia, the law criminalizes the possession and distribution of certain illicit drugs and other controlled substances. However, the sentences for these crimes may vary depending on how many times you have been convicted. Breaking Virginia’s drug laws will repeatedly lead to increased consequences, including large fines and longer prison terms.
Penalties for a programming class
Normally, maximum penalties for simple possession do not increase in subsequent convictions. However, the court can consider your criminal history in determining your sentence (how much time you really serve). The only exception to this rule refers to marijuana, as described below.
- In Virginia, the maximum penalties for drugs are divided into many kinds of several crimes, and go as follows:
- Possession of either a Schedule 1 or a Schedule 2 is considered as class 5 felony. The maximum penalty for either is a $ 2,500 fine and a ten-year prison sentence.
- However, the state may choose to charge certain class 5 offenses as class 1 misdemeanors, especially if it is their first offense. In these situations, the maximum penalty of fine is $ 2,500 and up to one year in jail.
- Possession of a Schedule 3 the drug is a class 1 misdemeanor. Drug possession has a maximum penalty of a $ 2,500 fine and a one-year prison sentence. Ketamine, LSD and many other high-risk sedatives are listed as drugs in program 3.
- Possession a Schedule 4 the drug is a class 2 misdemeanor. Their maximum penalties are a fine of $ 1,000 and a jail term of six months. High-risk medications and narcotics are included in the list of drugs in program 4.
- Possession of an Agenda 5 drug is a Class 3 misdemeanor. Your maximum penalty is a fine of up to $ 500. The drugs in program 5 include many prescription medications, such as painkillers.
- Possession of a Schedule 6 the drug is a class 4 misdemeanor. Your maximum penalty is a fine of up to $ 250. The drugs in program 6 are prescription drugs such as antidepressants and drugs for ADHD.
- Also, a conviction for any of the above crimes will result in an automatic suspension of the 6-month license.
Simple possession of marijuana
Virginia sanctions for marijuana possession change depending on whether or not it is your first conviction:
For a first offense, the law will treat the possession of marijuana as a “class U” misdemeanor (undefined). The maximum fine is a fine of $ 500, and, rarely, up to 30 days in jail. Also, the judge may choose to perform community service instead of suspending your license.
After the first conviction, the court deals with the possession of marijuana as a class 1 misdemeanor. Their maximum penalties include a fine of $ 2,500, and up to a year in jail. The Virginia DMV will also automatically suspend your license for six months.